City government sworn in at city hall ceremony

The 2010 Chelsea City Government was sworn in at inaugural ceremonies held inside a packed city council chamber Monday night.

City Clerk Robert Bishop did the official swearing in of the city council and the school committee.

Bishop had the special pleasure of swearing in his daughter Kathleen, who won a seat on the City Council in November. At 21, she is the youngest city councilor in Massachusetts.

Leo Robinson was elected unanimously as the City Council president.

Paula Barton was elected unanimously as vice-president.

In addition to Bishop, a total of four new council members were sworn: Attorney Anthony Pellegreno, Richard Maronski, and former councilor Calvin T. Brown. A fifth new council member will be named at a later date following a selection process in order to fill the vacancy left by former council member Ron Morgese who resigned his seat in order to pay closer attention to his business interests.

The 2010 city council has a total of four women members, a historic high for the generally mixed governing body.

The new School Committee features one new member, Ana Hernandez, who will take over for James Dwyer.

The School Committee has six women members, an unprecedented historic high.

In balloting taken by the membership on Tuesday, Lisa Weaver was elected Chairwoman. Edward Ell’s was elected Vice-President and Rosemarie Carlisle was elected Delegate to the School Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *