All-Chelsea Awards Winners Announced

The 12th Annual “All-Chelsea Awards” will be presented on Monday, Sept. 30th to nine recipients who have improved the lives of local residents and enhanced the city’s overall civic standing.

“A significant reason that Chelsea’s stock continues to be on the rise is the contribution of so many towards the advancement of our community. These nine are representative of all the good that many do to promote our city and address the needs of our residents. We are fortunate to have them working among us,” said City Manager Jay Ash, the coordinator of the All-Chelsea Awards (ACA) Committee.

“It’s getting tougher and tougher to single out award winners because so many are stepping up to make a difference in Chelsea. In the end, we are all winners because the inspiring efforts and overall civic spirit these champions and others contribute to do truly set our community apart,” said City Council President Leo Robinson, a previous award winner.

Headlining the awards program is the selection of the late Richard Clayman to receive the “Lifetime Achievement” award. Clayman, who passed away last spring, will be honored for his work in the field of law, his support of numerous charitable efforts, and his loyalty to Chelsea.

“Richie was truly special. I know his presence will be felt when our community has this important opportunity to recognize him,” commented Morrie Seigal, a past Lifetime Achievement awardee.

The remaining eight awards recognize service and achievement over the last year and include:  Public Official – Gerry McCue; Community Organization – Chelsea, Revere, Winthrop Elder Services; Business – Barry Kirshon; Resident under 21 – Amairani Parras; Resident 21-64 – Mike Sandoval; Resident 65 and older – Melissa Shook; Contributing Stakeholder – Herbie Kupersmith; and Project – Say No to Ethanol.

The ACA Committee is comprised of residents and leaders of government, business and community based organizations. Representatives from that committee and other community leaders form the ACA Selection Committee. The 24 members of the ACA Selection Committee reviewed more than 50 nominations and voted by secret ballot to determine award winners. The process is governed by by-laws, and meant to be as fair, impartial and apolitical as possible.

“Apolitical and without agendas best describes the process,” reported Ash about the selection process. “Our community leaders take serious their responsibilities and really work to judge people and organizations based upon the merits of their accomplishments. The results of the voting speak for themselves.”

The Sept. 30 award ceremony will be held in the City Council Chambers at City Hall and will be carried live on Chelsea Community Cable Television beginning at 6 p.m.

The public is invited to attend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *