All-chelsea Awards Winners Announced

Representative Eugene O’Flaherty (front) and Jim D’Amico are two of ten individuals, organizations and programs that will presented with All-Chelsea Awards for their service to the community. O’Flaherty will be receiving the “Public Servant of the Year Award,” while D’Amico, a long-time real estate owner and community supporter, will receive an award for “Lifetime Achievement.” The award ceremony is open to the public and will be held at Chelsea City Hall on Monday, October 22nd from 6-8 p.m.

The 11th Annual “All-Chelsea Awards” will be presented on Monday, October 22nd to ten individuals and entities that have improved the lives of local residents and enhanced the city’s overall civic standing.

“A significant reason that Chelsea’s stock continues to be on the rise is the contribution of so many towards the advancement of our community.  These ten are representative of all the good that many do to promote our city and address the needs of our residents.  We are fortunate to have them working among us,” said City Manager Jay Ash, the coordinator of the All-Chelsea Awards (ACA) Committee.

“It’s getting tougher and tougher to single out award winners because so many are stepping up to make a difference in Chelsea.  In the end, we are all winners because the inspiring efforts and overall civic spirit these champions and others contribute to truly set our community apart,” said City Council President Leo Robinson, a previous award winner.

Headlining the awards program is the selection of two “Lifetime Achievement” award winners:  Chelsea Clock and Jim D’Amico. Chelsea Clock may be the city’s best-known business and is celebrating 116 years in business. D’Amico is one o the city’s largest residential property owners and has long enjoyed a tremendous reputation as a quality landlord. A “hall-of-fame” of sorts, the roster of Lifetime Achievement awardees can include residents, businesses and organizations that are recognized for extended outstanding service to the community or unparalleled individual accomplishment.

“Chelsea, our state and, in fact, our entire country have truly benefited from the outstanding contributions our latest Lifetime Achievement awardees have made in the areas of public safety, public education and community involvement. It is an honor to welcome them to our Lifetime Achievement roster,” commented Stanley Troisi, a Selection Committee member and past Lifetime Achievement awardee.

The remaining eight awards recognize service and achievement over the last year and include:  Public Official – Representative Eugene O’Flaherty, Community Organization – Saritin Rizzuto, Business – Gina Guange, Resident under 21 – Emrah Fejzic, Resident 21-64 – Carolyn Vega, Resident 65 and older – Frank DePatto, Contributing Stakeholder – PARC (the State’s Parklands Acquisition and Renovations for Communities Program), and Project – Residence Inn by Marriott.

The ACA Committee is comprised of residents and leaders of government, business and community based organizations. Representatives from that committee and other community leaders form the ACA Selection Committee. The 22 members of the ACA Selection Committee reviewed more than 40 nominations and voted by secret ballot to determine award winners. The process is governed by by-laws, and meant to be as fair, impartial and apolitical as possible.

“Apolitical and without agendas best describes the process,” reported Ash about the selection process. “Our community leaders take serious their responsibilities and really work to judge people and organizations based upon the merits of their accomplishments. The results of the voting speak for themselves.”

The October 22nd award ceremony will be held in the City Council Chambers at City Hall and will be carried live on Chelsea Community Cable Television beginning at 6 p.m.

The public is invited to attend.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *