Fighting for the People

When an attempt was made recently by the city council to change the Minimum Residential Tax Factor in order to favor commercial property interests over residential properties, Councilors Stan Troisi, Mike MeKonnen, Roseanne Bongiovanni, Deborah Washington, Brian Hatleberg and Ron Morgese joined together to defeat the measure, which was spearheaded by Councilors Roy Avellaneda, Paula Barton, Matt Frank and Marilyn Vega-Torres.

Taxes are high enough for homeowners and residential property owners in this city without enacting measures destined to make them even higher.

We applaud the good work done by these city councilors – and we wonder – why would other councilors be willing to shift burdens at a time when every dollar counts for residential taxpayers?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *